TEF Canada

The TEF Canada(Test d’Evaluation de Français) is an essential proof of French language proficiency level to obtain Canadian PR and Citizenship.

The minimum level required is level 7 (level B2 of the Common European Framework for Languages).If the candidate scores level 7, an additional 30 points are added to his profile.

For immigration to Canada, a candidate must take all of the 4 sections (2 hours 55 minutes):

Reading Comprehension

Reading Comprehension (60 minutes) – 50 questions – 300 points

Listening Comprehension

Listening Comprehension (40 minutes) – 60 questions – 360 points

Written Expression

Written Expression (60 minutes) – 2 topics – 450 points

Oral Expression

Oral Expression (15 minutes per candidate) – 2 topics – 450 points

The test evaluates the French skills of the candidate using a scale of 7 levels that range from 0+ level (basic skills) to level 6 (complete control).

This scale corresponds to:
6 skill levels A1 to C2 of the Common European Framework for Languages (CECR) of the Council of Europe

Correspondance Niveaux TEF/CECR/NCLC

The certificate of results is valid for one year.

A candidate may take the test as many times as he/she wants, however, a two-month waiting period is required between two successive tests.